The term „sabali“ originates from the west african language Bambara. It is often used on a daily basis, means as much as „be patient“ or „calm down“ and perfectly fits the peaceful mindset of the people in Mali.

Unfortunately many families live in acute poverty, do not have sufficient access to clean drinking water and medical supply. Mostly the finances for education do not suffice, which is why many children spend their days on the streets.

The association SABALI was founded at the end of 2013 with the goal of improving the living conditions in Mali in a sustainable and long-term way, particularly in and around the regions of the capital Bamako. Our regular projects include constructions and maintenance of wells and water pumps, the excavation of waterholes for the cultivation of the fields and the funding of school fees and school materials for children living in poverty. The funding of urgently needed medicines is also a part of our regular projects.

We rely on sponsorships, membership fees, vernissages, receipts of charity concerts and other events to raise the finances for the realization of our aid projects.

Thanks to our experiences on-site, the close co-operation and the regular contact with people of trust based in Mali, we learn exactly where and for which project money is most urgently needed. This leads to a quickly realization of the projects. Due to the instant transmission of receipts and bills, the handling of the finances is held transparent as much as possible. SABALI team members also travel to Mali on a regular basis to visit completed projects and to discuss, organise and supervise new projects.

Our Team

Matthias de Mink, Chairman
Matthias de Mink was born in 1987 in Freistadt/Upper Austria and has settled in Vienna since 2007. In 2010 he successfully completed an audio-engineering training at the SAE Technology Institute in Vienna and has been a free-lance audio-engineer and music producer ever since. In 2014 Matthias completed an additional pedagogical training as a children-group supervisor. He studies Cultural- and Socialanthropology and African studies at the University of Vienna. In 2011 Matthias decided on his first journey to Mali. He voluntary worked in an orphanage for 3 months and became acquainted with the everyday life of the people in Mali. The hospitality, the joy of life and the peaceful mindset of the people, who try to overcome their everyday lives as positively and free of conflicts despite their poverty, left him with great admiration. On this first journey he became close friends with Paul Traore, with whom our aid projects are realised today.

Ever since then Matthias has been in Mali regularly, whereby he always resides with local families and becomes more and more acquainted with their daily lives, the problems, the language (Bambara) and the people.

Altanshagai Tamir, Vice Chairwoman
Altanshagai Tamir was born in 1991 in Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia and has been living in Vienna since 2008. She studies Tourism-Management at the FHWien. She enjoys spending her free-time in the social field out of personal convictions and thus joined the association SABALI.

Markus Smejkal, Secretary
Markus Smejkal was born in 1988 in Freistadt, Upper Austria and grew up in Sandl. After his graduation in Freistadt he moved to Vienna in 2007 and is studying Sociology at the University of Vienna ever since. He is the secretary of the association and hopes on doing his bits furthermore on improving the living conditions in Mali.

Manuel Hostalek, Assistant Secretary
Manuel grew up in the district Freistadt, Upper Austria and has been in Vienna since 2008, due to his studies of Technical Chemistry. An association for the support of the ones in need is a good thing for Manuel and SABALI gives him the opportunity to learn association-related work at first-hand. It is always a pleasure for him when SABALI starts a new project and above all successfully completes it, as well as seeing the resulting improvements for the people in Mali.

Georg Seyerl, Treasurer
Georg Seyerl was born in 1989 in Freistadt, Upper Austria and spent his childhood there until his graduation from the Musikhauptschule in 2003. After his training of 5 years at the HTL and the resulting residence in a boardingschool in Linz, Georg completed his civilian service in the hospital of Freistadt. 2009 he began his studies of Meteorolgy at the University of Vienna and discovered his interest for glaciers during his semesters abroad on spitsbergs. As a balance to this technical and scientific life he decided to support SABALI and help the people in Mali.

Felix Kregl, Assistant Treasurer
Felix Kregl was born in 1989 in Freistadt, Upper Austria and grew up there. He studies European Ethnology at the University of Vienna. He started being active in different youth organizations earlier on. Hence it was important for him to also get socially engaged in Vienna and with SABALI he found the right choice.

Paul Traore
Paul was born on the 18th of May in 1988 in Bamako and grew up in the district Banakabougou. A special feature in his family is the great occurence of albinism, from which not only himself, but his mother and his 8 siblings are also affected. Being confronted by the poverty in his home since his childhood days, he quickly learns that change can only be achieved by hard work and commitment. Paul goes to elementary and middleschool in Bamako, graduates from school with 18 and successfully completes his studies in Theology. Already during his schooldays he supported the construction of a center for streetchildren in Bamako, where he still is an important employee and is responsible for diverse and organizational tasks on-site. Driven by the desire of enabling a better life for his fellow people, he is always supporting NPO’s on their aid-projects and can show a lot of experience in this field.

Beside his social commitment, music is a great passion of his. He sings, writes songs and released his first studio-album in 2016.

In addition, Paul played a leading role in 2014 in a socially critical, Malian sitcom.

Paul is an essential co-worker in the association SABALI. As our man at the site he registers our sponsored children on time for school, arbitrates and translates for construction projects and makes an important contribution to the transparency of the bills. Through his many contacts to the people in the city and the surrounding villages, he informs us in emergencies and grievances on-site.

Der Begriff „sabali“ stammt aus der westafrikanischen Sprache Bambara. Er wird oft im alltäglichen Sprachgebrauch verwendet, bedeutet übersetzt soviel wie „hab Geduld“ oder „beruhige dich“ und passt gut zur friedlichen Einstellung der in Mali lebenden Menschen.

Leider sind viele Familien dort akut von Armut betroffen, haben oft keinen ausreichenden Zugang zu sauberem Trinkwasser und medizinischer Versorgung. Für Schulbildung reicht das Geld oft nicht aus, weshalb viele Kinder den Alltag auf der Straße verbringen.

Der Verein SABALI entstand Ende 2013 mit dem Ziel, eine langfristige und nachhaltige Verbesserung der Lebensbedingungen in Mali, insbesondere im Gebiet rundum- und in der Hauptstadt Bamako, zu ermöglichen. Errichtung und Erhaltung von Brunnen und Wasserpumpen, die Aushebung von Wasserlöchern in Feldern zur Bewirtschaftung sowie die Finanzierung von Schulgebühren und Schulmaterialien für Kinder aus verarmten Verhältnissen gehören zu unseren regelmäßigen Projekten. Ebenfalls dazu zählt die Finanzierung von dringend benötigten Medikamenten.

Durch Sponsoren, Mitgliedsbeiträgen, Vernissagen, Einnahmen von Benefizkonzerten und sonstigen Veranstaltungen versuchen wir die Kosten zur Realisierung von Hilfsprojekten aufzubringen.

Dank unserer Erfahrung vor Ort, der engen Zusammenarbeit und dem regelmäßigen Kontakt mit malischen Vertrauenspersonen erfahren wir genau, wo und für welches Projekt am dringendsten Geld benötigt wird. Dadurch wird eine sehr schnelle Umsetzung der Projekte ermöglicht. Durch die sofortige Übermittlung von Belegen und Rechnungen wird der Umgang mit Vereinsgeldern so transparent wie möglich gehalten. Außerdem reisen SABALI-Mitglieder regelmäßig nach Mali, um fertiggestellte Projekte zu besichtigen, um neue zu besprechen, zu organisieren und zu betreuen.

Unser Team

Matthias de Mink, Obmann
Matthias de Mink wurde 1987 in Freistadt/Oberösterreich geboren und ist seit 2007 in Wien sesshaft. 2010 schloss er eine Tontechnikausbildung am SAE Technology Institute in Wien ab und arbeitet seither freiberuflich als Tontechniker und Musikproduzent. 2014 absolvierte Matthias zusätzlich eine pädagogische Ausbildung zum Kindergruppenbetreuer.

Er studiert Kultur- und Sozialanthropologie und Afrikanistik an der Universität Wien. 2011 entschloss sich Matthias zu seiner ersten Reise nach Mali. Dort arbeitete er drei Monate freiwillig in einem Waisenhaus und lernte das Alltagsleben der Menschen in Mali kennen. Die Gastfreundlichkeit, Lebensfreude und die friedliche Einstellung der Menschen, die trotz großer Armut versuchen den Alltag so positiv und konfliktfrei wie möglich zu meistern, hinterließen eine große Bewunderung. Auf dieser ersten Reise schloss er enge Freundschaft mit Paul Traore, mit dessen Hilfe heute unsere Hilfsprojekte realisiert werden.

Seitdem reist Matthias regelmäßig nach Mali, wobei er immer bei einheimischen Familien lebt und den Alltag, die Probleme, die Sprache (Bambara) und die Menschen besser kennenlernt.

Altanshagai Tamir, Obmann-Stellvertreterin
Altanshagai Tamir wurde 1991 in Ulaanbaatar, Mongolei geboren und wohnt seit 2008 in Wien. Sie studiert Tourismus-Management an der FHWien. Aus persönlicher Überzeugung engagiert sie sich in ihrer Freizeit gerne im sozialen Bereich und ist somit dem Verein SABALI beigetreten.

Markus Smejkal, Schriftführer
Markus Smejkal wurde 1988 in Freistadt, Oberösterreich geboren und wuchs in Sandl auf. Nach der Matura in Freistadt zog er 2007 nach Wien und studiert seither Soziologie an der Universität Wien. Er ist der Schriftführer des Vereins und hofft weiterhin einen Beitrag zur Verbesserung der Lebensumstände in Mali leisten zu können.

Manuel Hostalek, stellvertretender Schriftführer
Manuel wuchs im Bezirk Freistadt, Oberösterreich auf und ist, zwecks Studium der technischen Chemie, seit 2008 in Wien zuhause. Für Manuel ist ein Verein für die Unterstützung von Bedürftigen eine gute Sache und SABALI ermöglicht es ihm Vereinsarbeit aus erster Hand kennenzulernen. Es freut ihn immer zu sehen, wenn SABALI ein Projekt startet und vorallem abschließen kann, sowie die daraus folgenden Verbesserungen für die Menschen in Mali.

Georg Seyerl, Kassier
Georg Seyerl wurde 1989 in Freistadt, Oberösterreich geboren und verbrachte dort seine Kindheit bis zum Abschluss der Musikhauptschule in 2003. Nach seiner fünfjährigen HTL Ausbildungszeit und dem damit verbundenen Internatsaufenthalt in Linz, absolvierte Georg seine Zivildienstzeit im Krankenhaus Freistadt. 2009 begann er sein Meteorologie Studium an der Universität Wien und entdeckte im Zuge eines Auslandsemesters auf Spitzbergen sein Interesse für Gletscher. Als Balance zu diesem technisch, naturwissenschaftlichen Lebensweg hat er sich entschlossen, SABALI zu unterstützen und den Menschen in Mali zu helfen.

Felix Kregl, stellvertretender Kassier
Felix Kregl wurde 1989 in Freistadt, Oberösterreich geboren und wuchs auch dort auf. Er studiert Europäische Ethnologie an der Universität Wien. Schon früh engagierte er sich in verschiedenen Jugendorganisationen. So lag es für ihn nahe sich auch in Wien sozial zu betätigen und mit SABALI fand er für sich den richtigen Verein.

Paul Traore
Paul wurde am 18.Mai.1988 in Bamako geboren und wuchs im Stadtteil Banakabougo auf. Eine Besonderheit in seiner Familie ist das starke Auftreten von Albinismus, wovon er selbst, seine Mutter und seine 8 Geschwister betroffen sind. Seit Kindestagen mit der Armut in seiner Heimat konfrontiert, lernt er früh, dass nur durch harte Arbeit und Engagement Veränderungen möglich sind. Paul besucht in Bamako Grund-und Mittelschule, machte mit 18 Jahren seinen Schulabschluss und absolvierte danach ein Theologiestudium. Schon während seiner Schulzeit unterstützte er den Aufbau eines Zentrums für Straßenkinder in Bamako, wo er bis heute als wichtiger Mitarbeiter tätig und für verschiedenste, organisatorische Arbeiten vor Ort verantwortlich ist. Angetrieben von dem Wunsch, seinen Mitmenschen ein besseres Leben zu ermöglichen, unterstützt er immer wieder NGO's bei Hilfsprojekten und kann bereits viel Erfahrung auf diesem Gebiet vorweisen.

Neben seinem sozialen Engagement, gehört Musik zu seinen großen Leidenschaften. Er singt, schreibt Lieder und veröffentlichte 2016 sein erstes Studioalbum.

Außerdem spielte Paul 2014 eine Hauptrolle in einer sozialkritischen, malischen Fernsehkomödie.

Paul ist ein wichtiger Mitarbeiter im Verein SABALI. Als unser Mann vor Ort meldet er unsere Patenkinder fristgemäß zur Schule an, vermittelt und übersetzt bei Bauprojekten und trägt einen wichtigen Teil zur Transparenz der Rechnungen bei. Durch seine vielen Kontakte zu den Menschen in der Stadt und den umliegenden Dörfern informiert er uns über Notfälle und Missstände vor Ort.